University Calendar

Raleigh Civic Symphony: Our Voices Will Be Heard

NC State Department of Music and the Raleigh Civic Symphony Association present "Our Voices Will Be Heard: A Virtual Reality Celebration of the Women's Suffrage Movement."

With an eye to the upcoming anniversaries of the 19th Amendment and the Voting Rights Act, the Raleigh Civic Symphony performs a concert of music by female and African American composers. The concert features Ethyl Smyth’s popular suffragette anthem "March of the Women" and the American premiere of Ethiopia's "Shadow in America," a newly discovered work by Florence Price, the first African American woman to have her music performed by a professional orchestra.

The concert’s centerpiece is the world premiere of a new work combining a virtual reality experience with a live orchestra. The piece combines visuals by NC State College of Design students and faculty member Derek Ham and music by Aleksandra Vrebalov, a Serbian American composer known for her multimedia collaborations with Kronos Quartet. The musicians of the orchestra will be placed throughout the concert hall, mirroring the 360-degree visual experience. 

Panel discussion at 2 p.m., civic engagement showcase at 3 p.m. and concert at 4 p.m.

Sunday, April 14 at 4:00 pm to 5:30 pm

Talley Student Union, Stewart Theatre
Talley Student Union., Raleigh, NC 27606

Event Type

Concerts and Performances


Arts and Culture


music, Innovation



$5 for NC State students, $10 faculty/seniors/non-NC State students, $12 general admission

Arts NC State, Division of Academic and Student Affairs


Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Event Registration Required

This event requires registration.